another erased ecm

Non-vehicle specific forum for tuning all ford ecu's 1994-2004, including the 1994-1995 Mustang, 93-98 Mark VIII, 99+ F-150, 99-04 Mustang, 03-04 Cobra, 99-03 Harley Davidson and Lightning F-150

FBFG2, CBAZA, CZAJL, and all EEC-V

another erased ecm

Unread postby p4ndiamond » Tue Oct 02, 2018 1:08 pm

Not sure what's going on. But I use the mongoose to do my loads on my eec v. It's a 1998 cobra Aol3.

I plugged up to it the obd 2 port and USB on the computer and asked be to write to the ecm. It did not detect it and fans and pump were running. This is normally how it starts out for a load. So I power cycled the key to prepare the erase and write. Keep in mind it has not touched the ecm yet. The fans still came on and the pump. So I unplugged the USB and obd2 from the car with the key in the off position. And now the ecm behaves as if it's bricked or erased.

Not sure what happen since the mongoose never wrote or erased anything. Is their an idea of what's happening I need the car so I wrote to an f3 moates to continue driving. The issue makes no sense.

As you know i had another ECM also the DDX4 one that did this also but it was never using the mongoose its always been the QH. it continuously would not work or run without a chip in the J3 port.

Suddenly one day that ECM just works without anything in the J3 port after more than a year of not doing so. What the hell . lol .

Its a confusing and strange issue but i come to a final question here. If the issue is that the ECM data on the ROM is somehow corrupt etc. is their a way to push firmware to it even if the mongoose does not detect these ECM ? i have bin files i can push back onto them .
p4ndiamond
General Poster
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:23 pm
Name: mike
Vehicle Information: 97 cobra W. Temporary (NPI swapped)

Hi tech stage 2 cams
Vortech V7 JT trim @ 10lb
pi intake
NPI heads
4r70w Jmod
DDX4 Ecu on QH
3.73 Gears Detroit true trac
Mac o/r H Borla pro xs 2.5"

Re: another erased ecm

Unread postby decipha » Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:24 pm

impossible to brick a ford ecu they flash over hardware not software

yea, just force a write, if your using pcm flash select recovery in settings and u can write anything to it

if the software your using wont let u manually select the ecu type or do a forced write then your SOL

if you try to access any upper level aice functions while the j3 port is overwritten then your aice chip will go in to lala land and u have to remove power from the ecu to reset it. Its happened to me a few times when i go to flash or read an ecu not knowing it had a chip on the j3 port.
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 15899
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce
07 GMC 2500HD 6L - Veranafer

Re: another erased ecm

Unread postby p4ndiamond » Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:09 pm

interesting ill have to check this out when i get home. Where can i get PCM flash from ? since i am using BE the files are in BEB form . can i get a bin reading from the J3 chip and then force a flash so that i keep the associated token ?
p4ndiamond
General Poster
 
Posts: 52
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 3:23 pm
Name: mike
Vehicle Information: 97 cobra W. Temporary (NPI swapped)

Hi tech stage 2 cams
Vortech V7 JT trim @ 10lb
pi intake
NPI heads
4r70w Jmod
DDX4 Ecu on QH
3.73 Gears Detroit true trac
Mac o/r H Borla pro xs 2.5"

Re: another erased ecm

Unread postby decipha » Sun Jan 06, 2019 1:20 pm

pcm flash - http://www.efidynotuning.com/started.htm

pcm flash doesn't currently support flashing 2 bank ecu's though

I have no idea I have not used binary editor is some years since clint remotely disabled my dongle one day
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 15899
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce
07 GMC 2500HD 6L - Veranafer

Re: another erased ecm

Unread postby ironmanisanemic » Tue Jan 08, 2019 10:02 pm

p4ndiamond wrote:interesting ill have to check this out when i get home. Where can i get PCM flash from ? since i am using BE the files are in BEB form . can i get a bin reading from the J3 chip and then force a flash so that i keep the associated token ?



Had an ecu get erased on me due to an error in BE. BE will say it doesn't detect an ecu if you try to reflash it, but will give you an option to do a recovery reflash. Unfortunately it costs an additional token. Maybe contact Clint or Adam and see if it's something they can help you recover since it may have been an error on the BE side. They covered the additional token in my case since it was the softwares fault.
ironmanisanemic
A+ Contributor
 
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 10:50 am
Location: Vandenberg AFB, CA
Name: Miles
Vehicle Information: 89 Ford Bronco - 393W, Professional Products 190cc heads, Custom Comp Cams hyd roller cam, Edelbrock EFI Mustang intake, 10:1 compression, 30lb TrickFlow injectors, ProM 80mm Mass Air Meter, 2-1/2" into 3" y pipe, no cat, and hooker aerochamber muffler. U4P0 computer with Quarterhorse and BE, EA. AOD with all of the goodies.


Return to EEC-V & SN95 Tuning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest