New to the quarterhorse tuning. Need advice

non vehicle specific forum for tuning all other EEC-IV

New to the quarterhorse tuning. Need advice

Unread postby Bad86capri » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:07 am

I'm new to the quarterhorse tuning. Im picking up my quarterhorse today and will likely be downloading the software tonight. The setup im getting has a dongle already setup but i was curious about what software to use. I know a lot of people use BE and a lot use tunerpro. Which do you guys recommend? And where can i find on this site a good base tune to start with?
Setup- 306ci, twisted wedge heads, Anderson b3 cam, holley systemax intake, 30lbs inj., 80mm c&l meter with c&l elbow.

Thanks again!
Bad86capri
Power Poster

Name: Bill
Vehicle Information: 86 Capri T-Top. Oxford white, grey trim and canyon red interior. 306 with twisted wedge heads, Anderson b3 cam, holley systemax intake, ev6 30lbs inj., c&l 80mm maf, 70mm tb, longtube headers. Im currently using a plx wideband mounted in the driverside header. Tuning with moates quarterhorse and BE although sometimes i play around with Tunerpro

Re: New to the quarterhorse tuning. Need advice

Unread postby 85GT » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:34 am

Unless something's changed, the dongle is for BE. The quarterhorse doesn't care or need one. Some like BE, some like TunerPro. Other than it's sluggish data log start up and occasional fail, I prefer BE's graphical interface. And only been using TunerPro on the chevys so far. BE, for me is easier to navigate. What ever you click on opens. Then closes as you select something else. With Tunerpro, every PID needs to be double click to open a window for it. Then the window needs to be clicked to close. Lot of excessive mouse clicks.
85GT
Advanced Tuner

Name: Hank
Vehicle Information: 85 Mustang GT. 5.0, QH, A9L
Vehicle 2 Information: 91 Caprice 5.0 TunerPro RT
Vehicle 3 Information: 95 Caprice 4.3 TunerPro RT

Unread postby 85GT » Tue Aug 16, 2016 10:36 am