Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

non vehicle specific forum for tuning all other EEC-IV

Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:09 pm

Hey guys, name is Mike, great forum you have here, long story short:
I´ve been trying to increase the power of my tired 302 (1995 Bronco E40d) , installed an On3 Performance 70mm .68ar turbo, 42lb injectors and 3”PMAS maf sensor, wastegate with a 6psi spring, front mount intercooler, stock E7 heads, will be tuning with QH & BE… I was unable to find the DRY0 ecm Strategy (stock ecm) so I talked to Dave Blundel at Moates and he recommended a HOG0 ecm that can use the AHACB Strategy.

I got myself the ecm and now I am in the reading stage (Write ups), I got some questions so it would be nice if anyone could be kind enough to help me clear them up.

1- I think the Harmonic balancer is out of place, what can I do to set it or mark it right?
2- Truck has no O2 sensors installed, apparently past owner decided they were not needed, I think though that this eec IV might only use one? They seem to have cut the wires completely so I cannot see a plug… wiring diagrams show pin # 74 (GY/LB) and a ground I would suppose? I don´t know how to wire it.
3- MAF sensor is calibrated to 32lb injectors, I am not sure if the maf transfer for 3” PMAS will be correct? How will that calibration affect it?
4- Is there, or anyone has a BASE tune or an approach of a tune so the truck might actually start up with the 42s and the blowthrough maf?
5- More of a theoretical question, I will be using ARP studs and felpro 93331s, how much boost could I be pushing though the stock e7s before they decide to lift?
6- Tranny has a TransGo tugger hd2 shift kit, how far can I tune it with the AHACB strat?

Any input would be greatly appreciated.
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby decipha » Wed Sep 23, 2015 7:25 pm

piston stop will find tdc, bring it back to 10 btdc and hit it with a white marke to set timing with the spout yunk

yea just wire up the hego, only one wire to the ecu the other 3 are two grounds and the heater 12v+ that has to get ignition power

The ecu pin out it on the homepage under reference
http://info.efidynotuning.com/pinouts.htm

The maf is fine since your tuning it, if its cald for 32s chances are it'll support enough flow to measure up to 550rwhp so your fine

I have a base tune for ahacb ill toss up on the homepage this weekend if u want to wait

Ive pushed over 30lbs on e7s before with no issues with MLS cometics cant vouch for thr felpros

You can tune the trans to the point of failure if you so desire
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 13220
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:21 am

Thank you very much Decipha.

-Will do that with the balancer.

-Perfect, it shows the HEGO should be located at pin location 44.

-lol no 550rwhp in mind here, I just want her to keep up with traffic, maybe high 300s- low 400s at 12psi?

-I can wait for the tune, truck is actually sitting right now, heads are at the machine shop getting freshened up. (Really appreciate it by the way)

-Well on the felpros... since I will be tuning it, I wanted to have the "fuse" of soft gaskets hahaha; my idea is to maintain boost levels below 12psi.

-That is good to hear, though I just want to keep her in one piece lol.

Thank you again for you reply.
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby decipha » Thu Sep 24, 2015 11:44 am

12lbs should put you at roughly 330rwhp, with that little turbo you should be able to spool right off idle no problem so it should help with the low end torque, best bet would be to swap a set of heads on it while you have her out, just about any aftermarket head would put you over 500rwhp with the same 12lbs of boost, even a gt40 head would put you near 450rwhp, a significant improvement over what you have going on now
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 13220
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby red5.0fogger » Thu Sep 24, 2015 12:18 pm

Is it lifted with tall tires? If so what axle ratio and tire height? Stock torque converter?
red5.0fogger
Premium Member
 
Posts: 465
Joined: Mon Oct 06, 2014 5:02 pm
Name: George
Vehicle Information: 86 GT, stock block, twisted wedge heads, cobra intake, 180 shot, 3.73 gears, T-5 trans, 24# injectors, 155Lph fuel pump, 73mm C&L mass air meter, moates QH tuned by Decipha, Mac 1 5/8 shorty headers, Flowmaster 2 chambers, Drag radials, South Side control arms circa 1999.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Thu Sep 24, 2015 2:02 pm

decipha wrote:best bet would be to swap a set of heads on it while you have her out, just about any aftermarket head would put you over 500rwhp with the same 12lbs of boost, even a gt40 head would put you near 450rwhp, a significant improvement over what you have going on now


330rwhp is a little low for what I expected to be honest... and that´s why it would be ideal to get different heads like you said Decipha but, money is tight :(

You see, I´m living in a little country in south america called Colombia at the moment, availability of parts is very limited and shipping and taxes affect final costs... a bunch, the $249 Quarterhorse was the equivalent of $521 for example, and it took 1 month to get here lol.

I know the hobby is expensive and all, and they will need to be changed but a set of $700 Twisted Wedge could be $1400? and the wait till they arrive... I can´t afford that at the moment, but believe me it´s in the list.

Could porting the E7s help some?

red5.0fogger wrote:Is it lifted with tall tires? If so what axle ratio and tire height? Stock torque converter?


Hello Red, it´s at stock height, stock 3.55s, small 28" tires and stock torque converter; was also thinking about, if/when it breaks, getting a slightly higher stall (2200-2800 rpms).
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby decipha » Thu Sep 24, 2015 3:29 pm

porting the e7s isnt worth the effort

best bet would be to find a US friend to ship the parts to and get them to send them to you as used auto parts with a more realistic declared value
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 13220
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:42 pm

Ok,ok...

That is a very good idea, I´ll look into it. $$$

In the mean time though I think I´ll have to stick with the stock E7s, ARP studs... will put her together soon.

Will keep this updated as problems will surely arise lol, thank you very much for your help Decipha.
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby decipha » Fri Sep 25, 2015 7:56 pm

yea no prob

theres a garage/build section down low if you want to post your progress along the way
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 13220
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:35 am

Well, decided to do it step by step.

1- I installed the new ecu HOG0, truck started fine... Still with stock maf and injectors.
2-Installed quarterhorse and got a read out of the stock ecu, then I wrote it in the quarterhorse and truck started alright.
3- Installed the hego... It worked and in closed loop it hunted for 1.0 lambse.
4- Truck ran fine... And then CEL appeared and went super rich below 11.0:1 afrs...It also tries to drive in 3rd.. When in drive I had to manually set it in gear for it to move.
Any input would be greatly appreciated.
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Wed Jun 08, 2016 8:45 am

Aditional info:

1-Pump stays ON- could it be a bad connection between the QH and the ecu?
2-A corrupted tune?

Recheck J3 connection?
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby decipha » Wed Jun 08, 2016 4:33 pm

pump staying on means the tune is corrupt, did you get the plastic off the j3 port? most people don't
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 13220
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Wed Jun 08, 2016 4:56 pm

Thanks for answering Decipha, an update on what I have done:

1- I took the HOG0 ecm out, J3 seemed clean enough, still cleaned it up a bit more, but then, out of curiosity I installed the HOG0 without the QH... lol pump stayed ON. and it would start the same as before, super rich & CEL...

2- Took ecm apart again, this time, checking for burned capacitors and/or anything that could be out of normal, ecm looks ok, smells ok.

3- Now, just thinking here, during the installation of the 02 narrowband sensor I got the signal return to the cable of pin 46 of the Harness (Signal return of several sensor) and got the Hego to pin 44.

Question 1, could it be that I have a bad signal coming to pin 46 that causes these symptoms?
Question 2, could a relay, pcm and/or fuel pump be the culprit?

I have the stock ecm back at home, I could test it tomorrow... but if this HOG0 ecm is indeed burned I could end up with another burned ecu lol.

Any help is appreciated :)
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby decipha » Wed Jun 08, 2016 6:06 pm

yeah your ecu is fried, anytime the pump stays on the tune is corrupt if it stays on with no chip then the ecu is fried

most likely the cause of frying the ecu is adding or removing the j3 chip (quarterhorse or the like) with the ecu powered on (ignition / key in on position)

that sucks, time to score another ecu
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 13220
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Wed Jun 08, 2016 10:00 pm

Damn... Lol; thanks for your help Decipha.

Whats interesting is that I was really careful not to do that... As far as I know it did not happen.

What else could have caused it?

Could the o2 narrowband conection had something to do with it? (Splicing 44 and 46 pin).

There is something intriguing about the way it failed... truck was running right then all of a sudden the CEL appeared but nothing was evidently off... Kept going perfect; before getting to my destination I decided to turn her off and then on to see if the CEL would clear... Thats when it went haywire and I knew something was seriosuly bad.

I'm searching for a new ecm... This tuning world is interesting.
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby decipha » Thu Jun 09, 2016 6:11 am

a loose/intermittent connection on the j3 can cause it to fry the ecu, it usually fries an f3 chip, i don't think it would fry the qh but you can check it by writing a tune to it and reading it back to make sure its the same and it functions correctly
User avatar
decipha
Tooner
 
Posts: 13220
Joined: Mon Jul 15, 2013 5:29 pm
Location: New Orleans, LA
Name: Michael Ponthieux
Vehicle Information: Supercoupin' x10
90 (4x 5spds) - Dante, Ruby, Daja, Ava
91 4r70w - Skarlett
92 (2x) 5spd & auto - Bianqa, Andrea
93 auto - Danika
94 5spd Rionda
95 auto Aisha
Vehicle 2 Information: Others:
00 Lincoln LS - Luanda
98 Camaro SS - Bounquisha
02 Harley F-150 - Sasasha
03 Marauder - DyShyKy
00 Explorer 5L - Bernyce

Re: Questions, turbo 302 Bronco.

Unread postby MCA » Thu Jun 09, 2016 10:14 pm

Thank you very much for your help Decipha.

HOG0 ecm was, indeed burned, QH seems to be fine...

Old ecm is installed and it's back to normal (very low boost).

It appears that I might have pulled the cord from the QH in the cabin by accident, making it possible to have an intermittent connection... lol.

I'm in the process of acquiring another AHACB strategy ecm, I'll let you know when I get my hands on it. (Shipping is a pita and it might take a while).

Thanks again!
MCA
General Poster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2014 1:54 pm
Name: Mike Capasso
Vehicle Information: 1995 Bronco, QH-BE, 302. 9.0:1, stock, 42s, 3"Pmas, T70 0.68ar.


Return to EEC-IV Tuning

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests