Page 1 of 1

Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 5:19 pm
by StangD
Accepting the reality that I will be using E10 91/92 octane premium from now on. Straight gas is hard to find. Might as well tune for E10 it as I will end up using it too often if not always. Trying to follow the Decipha "rules" and lay off the LMAF transfer until I get the fuel real close to right. Using BE, afraid to load up my Innovate software as I know it will create drama again. Want to make sure I am interpreting Lambda and wideband AFR right. I have made the stoic correction in BE. I assume I have to look at the wideband and pretend 14.08 is what I want right?

I have some assemblance of a base tune in. For now my 42# injectors are ET at 42.5 high slope slope and 50 low slope. I can drop the slope numbers but it doesn't run well and pops out the pipes if I go with 40 to 42 range. I am using the recommended breakpoint for the injectors. .0000013 (excuse the zeros if i got them wrong but I checked the specs and they are correct. The car will idle now. It was pig rich and now I have Lambda and wideband in the same world now. (Assuming I am interpreting wideband correctly). They were 4 numbers apart when I started. It runs decent at higher rpms already. I know I am fighting a rowdy cam and big intake. The low end will be tough to tame.

I get that I want lambda and wideband to match. I want LTFT to be near 1.000 and I am now way closer. About .950 now give or take and closing in on 1.000. It was in the .8s. I want to play with base fuel table now but not if I don't have the facts for E10 interpretation.

If I get the top end verified safe I am racing tomorrow night. :) WOT AFRS are in the low to mid 12s, if I am reading my wideband correct for E10.

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 5:48 pm
by decipha
your wideband should read 1.0 at stoich program it or set the transfer for lambda

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Thu Aug 20, 2015 7:56 pm
by StangD
That's what I thought you might say. Wish I could run the Innovate software so I could switch it to Lambda but I know how that will end. I'll have to track down the old EGR wire so I can log with BE. Hope that will work as I don't think I have any other short term options.

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 6:01 am
by decipha
well no prob just know that stoich is 14.7 and at WOT you want to be in the .86-.90 range 12.6-13.2

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:15 am
by StangD
Thanks. I put the innovate software on a different laptop for now and setup for 14.08 stoic. Not a fully synched datalog using two laptops by any means, but I can sit at steady rpms and get my head wrapped around reading Lambda instead of AFR. I'd still like to wire through the EGR switch too, but want to have some comfort my transfer functions are correct and I am reading reality from the wideband. I'll find out soon if BE+Innovate software is still a hassle.

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:25 am
by decipha
cool

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:29 am
by StangD
Just noticed you have the transfer function instructions listed on this site. You have this forum organized VERY well. I've just scratched the surface of all the helpful info you have posted.

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Fri Aug 21, 2015 7:38 am
by decipha
I try, thats all one can do right

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 9:51 am
by StangD
I won't say that I have dialed in fuel by any means as I was still playing with different Hi/Low slopes just trying to get in some drag time last night. Circled back to 42/42 slopes on 42# injectors. Works outstanding at cruise speeds. If it was a street car I would only have to address low speed bucking at 1500rpm. Still very fat at WOT. I am maintaining cruise AFR in the low 14s which should be right for E10. WOT is still very rich. I need to take it away there without pulling much fuel in the mid range rpms. I made three passes and most of the time AFR was under 12.0 at WOT. It showed in my trap speeds which were down by 4mph. Best 60ft times ever. ETs about the same. Fuel seems right in the 4-5K range now and it pulls hard there. Time to get my head wrapped around the "complete" fueling picture. Adjusting WOT/high rpm fuel under high load without a dyno to check changes sure isn't easy.

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:08 am
by red5.0fogger
What was your timing at? Sometimes timing will give more than leaning the Afr.

Re: Tuning fuel for E10 and Innovate Wideband

Unread postPosted: Sat Aug 22, 2015 10:48 am
by StangD
Believe I am running factory CBAZA timing. Trying to dial in fuel first as Decipha suggests, or at least get it close. Haven't touched timing or modded the LMAF transfer curve yet. Doubled back yesterday to make sure any small vacuum leaks were cured. I have an oil catch can I route my PCV through. It was leaking some and so were some valve cover grommets. I also reset the distributor per the write up. Anyway I got it running decent late yesterday. I have some datalogs but no current way to read them. My EA license died with my laptop. I'll probably buy a another new license I guess. I am running a Fordstrokers/Probe 347 kit on a factory block so I am paranoid to screw with my timing before I know what I am doing. It won't tolerate any detonation. I've seen too many carnage pics.